top of page

Workshops

Quininí 

Creativity & Learning

Working with these kids really means that I have a million little stories that I could share every day but this week, a few really stood out to me.

For the past two weeks, during recesses, the kids have been regularly trying to take my phone, no matter how much I insist I only have one game installed and it’s really quite uninteresting, especially considering how many of them seem to have smartphones too. (The children having smartphones making me feel old phenomenon apparently exists wherever I go, I got my first cell phone junior year of high school, and my smartphone in college, not elementary school.) Much to my surprise, they apparently consider Duolingo a game and love to “play.” The kids really just end up teaching themselves! However, some of them also like to scroll through my pictures and asks me tons of questions about where I’m from and where I’ve been, my home in New York City, my family in China, some of my study abroad and travels through Europe. They were incredibly curious and excited about all the different places. Little did they realize that I think Colombia has been the most beautiful place I’ve been thus far.

They also don’t seem to realize how resourceful they can be. Late last week, we created paper mache projects. Some of the kids had already finished, but others had left theirs to dry outside. Due to some unfortunate misunderstanding, some workers placed heavy wood on top some of the projects. Many of the projects were mildly damaged, and the kids were understandable disappointed, but not for long. While I was still struggling to figure out how to save their hard work, many of the kids turned them into funny hats instead and colorful toy balls. I often try to focus the class on the task at hand, but it’s clear to me that I’ve forgotten a bit of the spectacular creativity and versatility of childhood.

As much as I love interacting with these kids during class, I can’t get enough of-and don’t seem to have a choice in-spending more time afterwards. I was warned beforehand about how the kids would end up dragging me all over the place, but I didn’t quite realize part of that meant by horse. Even if I’m already exhausted after class, the kids certainly aren’t and want to further explore, and bring me along for the ride. I might have the official title of “profesora,” but it’s pretty clear that this is much more about mutual exchange between me and the students, and between the students themselves.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page