top of page

Workshops

Quininí 

Es Mejor Vivir Sin Miedo

Have you ever just wanted to travel the world, but actually do something meaningful while doing it? Welcome to my dream. That is, the dream of a recent graduate from Syracuse University with a degree in anthropology and a passion for travel. My name is Becky Argeroplos and that is what brought me here, to my next chapter of life in Bogotá, Colombia.

I am originally from New York, US, and have grown up with a love for the outdoors, exploring, and of course, macaroni and cheese. My friends and family have described me as easy-going, free-spirited, independent, but not to leave out what I have most recently been referred to as, a flower child. Peace, love and happiness, am I right?

As someone once told me some of the best advice I’ve gotten, “You better make sure that whatever you end up doing in life, that you love it, and that it makes you happy.” So here I am on a quest to find that passion and that happiness in my work life. And what it is that I am doing here? I am an intern for Interchange Colombia, a non-profit organization that focuses on breaking down the existing barriers between cultures by providing opportunities for mutual exchange and learning to communities outside of Bogotá. How exciting: a new place, new people, new job, new lifestyle, and a new opportunity. And it’s funny how one of my favorite inspirations came to me once I stepped off the plane, while waiting in line at customs. I saw a man wearing a t-shirt that said, “Es mejor vivir sin miedo.” It’s better to live without fear. And I just smiled. Fear can hold you back from doing so many great things. Now that’s what they should teach kids in school.

Getting to know the city is still a work in progress, but I could also say the same for Manhattan, which I’ve been visiting for the past 21 years of my life. I live in La Candelaria, which is the historic center and touristic hub of the city. What draws me in is every building is painted a beautiful, vibrant color, and not to mention it’s full of cafes, hostels, and restaurants.

When I’m asked, “Where would I like to travel most?” I truly don’t know. My answer would be, I want to see the whole world. I’ve also often been asked “Why Colombia?” And I just have to say “Why not.” You don’t know the true beauty and potential of a place until you explore it.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page